

Quotes - Academics Commenting on IZA Prize for Jan Švejnar

"Jan Svejnar's work has deepened our understanding of the pitfalls and opportunities facing emerging market economies. His analysis has contributed to economists' theory and knowledge, but also has had direct effects on the policy choices made in various countries. The IZA Prize is a well-earned honor."

Rebecca Blank, chancellor, University of Wisconsin-Madison; former acting U.S. secretary of commerce; IZA Prize Committee member, 2015

"I want to congratulate my colleague Jan Svejnar for receiving the prestigious IZA Prize in Labor Economics. His contributions to our understanding of governance, globalization, and government policy - among many other topics - very much deserve this honor."

Joseph Stiglitz, University Professor at Columbia University; winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics; former IZA Prize Committee member

"Jan Svejnar's pioneering work on the transition of economies from centrally planned to market oriented has had enormous influence on both public policy and academic scholarship. Born in Czechoslovakia, Jan is himself an example of successful transition and an ideal selection for the prestigious IZA Prize."

Orley Ashenfelter, Joseph Douglas Green 1895 Professor of Economics at Princeton University; 2003 IZA Prize recipient

"Jan Svejnar is a wonderful choice for the 2015 IZA Prize. From his research on worker participation in firm management to the economics of transitioning communist countries, Jan Svejnar has had a profound influence on economics. Indeed, Svejnar helped to establish the entire field of transition economics. In addition to his significant academic contributions, Professor Svejnar has also helped to found and guide CERGE-EI to become an outstanding graduate education and research center, advised the Czech government on economic policy and privatization procedures, and nearly became president of the Czech Republic."

Alan Krueger, Bendheim Professor of Economics and Public Affairs at Princeton University; former chairman, President's Council of Economic Advisors; 2006 IZA Prize recipient